Create an Account

email Remember Me?
Password   forgot password?
Is Robotech still more popular than Macross in America
Posted: 02 January 2019 11:09 PM  
Banned
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2018-12-11

I’m new to this. I’ve never seen Robotech so I have no idea how far Robotech reaches.

Also I’ve been reading on some random forums about Minmay, is the hate she receives mostly from Robotech fans or Equal?

Also Minmay did nothing wrong

Posted: 03 January 2019 05:15 AM   [ # 1 ]  
Commander
Total Posts:  997
Joined  2001-06-13

I don’t have any numbers to back this up, but I’d say Robotech and Macross are about equally popular in the US.  By that, I mean both are a relatively small fandom compared to other anime because of how long its been since anything new was released (in the US).  Most people who are familiar with one will almost invariably be familiar with the other.  Also, in my experience, most people love both Robotech and Macross equally.  Almost every single fan I’ve met face to face loves both.  However, online, there are some very vocal Macross fans who dislike Robotech for various reasons and they aren’t shy about telling you about it.

As for Minmay, she was just an obnoxious element of the love triangle whose fickle nature caused a lot of frustration for fans.  Lots of people will tell you that they dislike her, but if you press them on it, they will admit that she added a lot to the dramatic tension of the story and was an important part of the show.  If you haven’t seen Robotech, you should check it out.  It’s on Netflix.  And it encompasses a lot more than just Macross, so its not simply a re-telling of the Macross story.

Nice PMMM reference.  I like it.

Signature 

Seifrietti Weisse (AKA Zor)(AKA Annie’s Daddy)
http://www.kourindou.us

Posted: 03 January 2019 10:36 AM   [ # 2 ]  
Master Sergeant
Total Posts:  5686
Joined  2007-04-08